Recipe Box

Seasoned Thyme Pork Roast September 23, 2006

Filed under: main dishes — bonny @ 11:45 pm

1 pork loin roast (3 lb)

2 onions, sliced

3 T oil

1/2 c Kraft Sweet Recipes Brown Sugar Barbeque Sauce (I used whatever basic one I had in the refrigerator)

1/4 c apple juice

2 T dried thyme leaves

4 – 6 apples, sliced

1/2 c pitted prunes

Preheat oven to 350.  Brown pork and onions in hot oil in large ovenproof pot on medium-high heat 3 minutes, turning occasionally.

Combine barbeque sauce, apple juice and thyme.  Pour over ingredients in pot; cover with ovenproof lid.  Simmer an additional 10 minutes, then place in oven.

Bake 2 hours.  Add apples and prunes; bake an additional 30 minutes or until pork is cooked through and apples are tender.

 

3 Responses to “Seasoned Thyme Pork Roast”

  1. kathy Says:

    Thank you so much for that post! I always want to comment on your blog but can’t; I’ll stay here. I don’t plan more than 2 days ahead as our fridge doesn’t hold nearly as much as yours, but I’m loving hte recipes. What do you do with the apples? It would be a waste for me because i can’t see anyone eating them; do you guys?

  2. kathy Says:

    Oh, and PHC was LIVE today! We had just pulled into camp when he started the “News from Lake Wobegon” and I’m not sure if he did “Life of the Cowboys” or “Katsup Advisory Board” (kids’ favorite bits) but we’ll listen again tomorrow. Much love!

  3. bonny Says:

    Hey – I had it on today, too, but missed much of it LOL. Re the apples — R and I and miss middle child eat it all, plus my parents were over for dinner. I can’t count on the other 3 eating anything like that LOL. I would probably just leave them out if I thought they’d go to waste.


Leave a Reply

